Le Domaine des Sources empty
Welcome Camping Guest table
Special offers
empty

Domaine des Sources - Tourist information

  Below is an overview, in order of distance, of the tourist attractions. Most hyperlinks are only available in the French language, where possible we try to provide English language links.
empty
 
Distance (km)
Information
empty
empty
empty
 
1
Montviette
MONTVIETTE

Montviette is a French commune in Basse-Normandie, located in the Calvados department.
The commune was part of the canton of Saint-Pierre-sur-Dives until it was dissolved on 22 March 2015 and the municipalities were included in the canton Livarot. On 1 January 2017 the municipality merged with other municipalities from the former canton to the commune nouvelle Saint-Pierre-en-Auge
The area of Montviette is 6.5 km², the population density is 26.8 inhabitants per km².

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
5
Livarot
LIVAROT

Livarot is a town and former municipality in the Calvados department in the Normandy region. The municipality has 2516 inhabitants (1999) and is part of the district Lisieux. In 2016, the municipality merged with the commune nouvelle Livarot-Pays-d'Auge.

The place is known by the cheese Livarot that is named after it. Livarot is also the place where on 17 July 1944 field marshal Erwin Rommel was injured in an air raid during the invasion of Normandy.

The area of Livarot is 12.1 km², the population density is 207.9 inhabitants per km²

The tourist office of Livarot

The history of the Livarot cheese

Visit the cheese village of Livarot

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
15
Vendeuvre
VENDEUVRE **

The Castle of Vendeuvre

The Vendeuvre castle is located in Vendeuvre, between Saint-Pierre-sur-Dives and Falaise, in Normandy. It has been open to the public since 1983 and houses the Museum of Miniature Furniture, the world's first collection of miniature furniture, a collection of dog kennels and pets; The series of salons is a fine example of the art of living in the eighteenth century, which is also reflected in the cuisines of the same period. Outside, the castle is decorated with water gardens "surprise" and a shellfish cave.

  • The collection of miniature furniture
  • The furnished castle from the XVIII century
  • The surprising water gardens
   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
17
st-germain-de-livet
SAINT GERMAIN DE LIVET

The Castle of Saint Germain de Livet

"The Wonder of the Pays d'Auge" is the property of the city today. It is a small fortified castle in the valley of the valley and a gem through the many colors of the building blocks and the green varnished bricks. It was built in the 16th century and is one of the most valuable examples of the architecture of the Pays d'Auge at the time of the Renaissance. Furniture from the 18th and 19th century, and frescoes from the 16th century complete the picture. Many drawings and paintings come from the Riesener collection of which one of the representatives, Leon, was the cousin of Delacroix.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
23
Lisieux
LISIEUX *

CAN NOT BE MISSED
> In the footsteps of St. Thérésia: she was born on January 2, 1873 and at the death of her mother Thérésia lived in the Buissonennets. This house, where she lived from her 4.5 years to her 15 years and 3 months (age at which she entered the monastery), keeps many souvenirs from the youth of Thérésia. In the Karmel is the reliquary of the saint and in the Hall of the Relics are the memories of her daily life. The Diorama of Saint Thérésia shows us the stages of her life through various wax images. The Basilica Sint Thérésia is one of the largest religious buildings of the 20th century. She was inaugurated in 1954. Visit the crypt and the dome of 93 meters high. The "Carmel de Sainte-Thérèse" exhibition shows us the history and life of the Carmelites.

> The Cathedral of Saint Peter: erected between the end of the 12th century and the middle of the 13th century, this Cathedral contains the tomb of Bishop Cauchon. Here, in this church, Thérèse Martin attended the Mass.

> The Justice Palace: adjoining the Cathedral, the old premises of the Episcopal Palace in Louis XIII

> The Art and History Museum of Lisieux exhibits ancient art and folk traditions from the region. Also the important iconography of the old Lisieux and the Pays d'Auge.

> The St. Jacob's Church holds several exhibitions during the season.

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
24
Crevecoeur
CRÈVECOEUR

The castle of Crèvecœur
The fortified castle of Crèvecœur is a unique example of medieval craftsmanship and is unlikely to be well preserved. This castle surrounded by water has maintained its original structure;

  • the upper living area, protected by a number of reinforcements.
  • The lower part with the chapel and the buildings decorated with wooden boxes.

On site you can visit exhibitions about the medieval history of the castle, about the construction of the houses with the wooden boxes and about the adventures of the brothers Schlumberger.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
30
Falaise
FALAISE *

Falaise is located exactly between Swiss Normandy and the Pays d'Auge. Nature here is generous and lush with green valleys and plains full of flax and wheat. The area is ideal for sports enthusiasts, they can go mountain biking, hiking or kayaking to your heart's content. Moreover, these sports are ideal for those who want to discover in a different way the rich heritage of the city where William the Conqueror was born. Falaise was an important center for trade and craft products, so it was a prosperous city at an early stage. The medieval castle still bears witness to this time: it proudly rises above the city.

In 1944 Falaise was dying after death. Due to the bombing of the Allies, more than 85% of the city was destroyed during the liberation. At the Poche de Falaise, British, American, Canadian, Polish and French troops surrounded the men of Rommel. They gave them a devastating defeat. The Battle of Normandy had been fought.

Falaise was the main residence of the Dukes of Normandy. Here in 1027 the son was born of Robert the Brilliant and Arlette, the daughter of a tanner. They first called him 'the bastard'. But later he would become world famous as William the Conqueror and be proclaimed King of England.

TO SEE!

> Castle of William the Conqueror: castle from the 12th century, situated on a rocky spur between the valleys of the Ante and the Marescot, since 1840 this is a Historical Monument. The power of the Dukes of Normandy is revealed with grandeur.

> Automates Avenue (Avenue of the Vending Machines): a collection of more than 300 vending machines is set up in a fake Parisian avenue. In a studio it is revealed how the traditional mannequins are brought to life.

> Musée Lemaître: The painter André Lemaître was born in Falaise. In this museum - opened in 2000 - you will discover how he developed himself as an artist.

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
33
Cerza
CERZA

In the vicinity of Lisieux one can also find the Animal Park of CERZA, with its 500 wild animals on an area of more than 50ha. With a safari train you can drive around the whole park.

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
34
beuvron
BEUVRON-EN-AUGE

In the vicinity of Cabourg lies Beuvron and Auge, an authentic village with many half-timbered houses that have been restored with the utmost care. It is wonderful to stay here!

AUTHENTIC VILLAGE IN THE HEART OF THE CALVADOS

The old estate from the XVIth century, the old inn Boule d'Or from the XVIIIth century, the many houses with wooden half-timberings from the XVII and XVIIIth century ... Departure on discovery of this unique patrimony of the Pays d'Auge. A visit to Beuvron and Auge is one of the many pleasures of life. The pleasure to open the door of a shop, meet passionate people, taste delicious regional dishes .... This is priceless!

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
37
HarasDuPin
LE PIN-DE-HARAS *

LE HARAS NATIONAL DU PIN

"A monument in honor of the horse"

LE HARAS NATIONAL DU PIN, built between 1715 and 1730 by order of Louis XIV, is today the oldest of the 23 stallions approved by the Ministry of Agriculture.

THE SYMBOL OF FRENCH EXCELLENCE

Those who are skeptical about this name will quickly change their mind during the visit. The beauty of the site and the buildings testifies to the immense respect of man for his "most noble conquest". The stables are built in horseshoe shape around the majestic courtyard. About thirty stallions of ten different breeds reside here, all destined to breed. The Haras du Pin is located in the commune of Pin-au-Haris in the Orne and is the symbol of French excellence in the field of horse breeding. The Haras du Pin is also the oldest and most prestigious of all national stud farms. The curious who are lucky enough to come here will experience an unexpected experience and get to know the elegant world of the horse in a unique historical setting. They will be able to follow a didactic discovery course and gain knowledge in relation to the breeds, the postures and steps, the anatomy and the traditional crafts around the horse. In the stables, visitors learn all about the secrets of the history of breeding, the tour will take them to a sculpture carousel at the end.

Download the brochure or practical information to visit 'LE HARAS NATIONAL DU PIN'

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
38
Cambremer
CAMBREMER

Cambremer, authentic normandy village on the cider route.

In the municipality of Cambremer is also the very beautiful Jardins du Pays d'Auge.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
49
Caen
CAEN ***

FAVORITE CITY OF WILLEM THE CONQUEROR

The spirit of the city with its 1000 years of history, of course, settles mainly in the oldest districts of the city. Originated from an island fortified by the Normans at the confluence of the Orne and the Odon, Caen was the favorite city of William the Conqueror. Here he had a castle and two abbeys built: the Men's Abbey and the Women's Abbey. After the capture of Normandy in 1204 by Filip-August, the English invaded Caen in 1346 and 1417. They remained there until 1450.

TO SEE

> Memorial of Caen: After a visit to the Beaches of the Landing, a visit to the Memorial of Caen is a must. 6 June 1944: the Allies landed on the Norman beaches to liberate an occupied Europe. Thousands of crosses stand on the cemeteries in the region and testify to the terrible slaughter that took place here. The Memorial of Caen was erected in 1968 on this memory-strewn soil. This museum is dedicated to the Battle of Normandy and is an international cultural center in the sign of peace. The different rooms are beautifully decorated. The D-day room is very fascinating thanks to the gigantic screen on which the Landing can be "simultaneous". The screen is divided into two parts: one side shows the position of the Allies, the other that of the Germans. In the gallery of the Nobel Peace Prize, tributes are paid to the many laureates since its inception.

> The male abbey: to reconcile with the Vatican, who accused him of his marriage with a distant cousin, the princess of Flanders, built William the Conqueror in 1066 the Mannenabdij. Construction started in Romanesque style, but in the 13th century it was further finished in Gothic style. Here is the tomb of the Duke King. This unique masterpiece of architecture is stunned by the elegance of lines that blend quiet Romanesque aesthetics with the brilliant élan of Gothic.

> The women's abbey (at the place that was named after Queen Mathilde): founded between 1060 and 1080 by Queen Mathilde, this abbey is the counterweight for the Men's Abbey. The Church of the Holy Trinity, built in the 11th century and remodeled in the 12th century is a fine example of Romanesque art. The crypt with its unique roof construction is beautiful. Queen Mathilde is resting in the middle of the church.
> The castle was built by William the Conqueror. It was badly damaged during the bombing of 1944 and restored after the war. Today the museum of fine arts is located here and the Museum of Normandy, the chess board room and the Sint-Georges church.

> The Hotel d'Escoville: here you will find the Tourist Office, in one of the most typical buildings of the first Renaissance.

> St. Peter's Church: this parish church stands out because of the luxury of its decorations. Founded in the 12th century, this church was finished in renaissance style in the 16th century.

> The Botanic Garden: In the heart of the city, the Botanic Garden owes its originality to Gallart de la Ducquerie, professor at the faculty of medicine of Caen, who bought a garden in 1689 and filled it with rare plants. Today, more than 2,000 plant species can be admired and enjoy peace and relaxation.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
50
suisse-normande
SUISSE NORMANDE **

The peaks of the Suisse Normande are nowhere higher than 300 meters, not really mountainous, but the landscape here unmistakably reminds of the Alps. Nature is formed by the rivers, it is wooded, alternating, pure. The slopes of the deep, green valleys are steep and the water currents in the river gorges have carved beautiful and often surprising landscapes in the rocks. And to make the picture complete, some picturesque villages have been pasted in the valleys or on the flanks of the hills.

CANOE, WALKING, FISHING AND CLIMBING

The elegant curves of the River Orne are a treat for water sports enthusiasts. For example for fans of canoeing and kayaking or for anglers who want to hit pike, trout or walleye on the hook. The landscapes of the Suisse Normande are also a paradise for walkers, horsemen and mtb'ers. And real climbing acrobats can enjoy themselves at the Rochers des Parcs in Clécy.

Clécy, Thury-Harcourt - Le Hom ...

> Clécy: the Saint-Pierre church was built in the 15th century and has a beautiful choir and transept from the 19th century. Clécy is a small place at the Viaduc de la Lande with beautiful, characteristic buildings and imposing mansions.

> Thury-Harcourt - Le Hom: the northern gateway to the Suisse Normande. Thury-Harcourt has a rich industrial past, there were many tanneries and enamel factories. There is also an imposing castle here, surrounded by beautiful parks and gardens. For a long time Normandy was ruled from here, but the building was destroyed by the Germans in 1944. Only the chapel from the 17th century is still there, it has been declared a historic monument.

> Roche d'Oëtre: in the heart of the Suisse Normande, in the department of Orne, you will find one of the most beautiful - by nature - viewpoints of western France. You stand in the green at more than a hundred meters above the gorge of the Rouvre and you look out over rock formations in all kinds of fantastic forms.

> Château de la Motte: this beautiful structure has not been declared a historical monument for nothing. It was built between 1598 and 1614 and is one of the earliest examples of the sleek, classical architecture in France. Also the castle gardens are worth a detour, just like the beautiful Romanesque church of the village of Acqueville.

Saint-Rémy-sur-Orne, Saint-Omer ...

> Saint-Rémy-sur-Orne: since 1460 iron was mined in the Fosses d'Enfer (the Hell Mines), an activity that definitely came to an end in 1968. In 1993 the Maison des ressources géologiques de Normandie (the House of the Geological resources of Normandy), a museum about the Norman mineral resources. The Notre-Dame chapel was built by miners in the 20th century, the altar stands on a mine cart.

> Saint-Omer: not only known for the Romanesque church that was rebuilt between the 18th and 19th centuries, but also for the Abbaye du Val, a former convent of Augustinian monks. At the chapel Saint-Clair you have a panoramic view over the plains of Falaise and Caen, you can even see the sea, the mouth of the Seine and the hills in the Pays d'Auge.

> Tranchée du Hom: around 1883 a passage was made in the rocks to lay a road from Thury-Harcourt to Aunay-sur-Odon.

> Rochers des parcs: the silent witness of the rich, millions of years old geological history of the region. Perfect for amateur climbers. On the plain, above, are beautiful moors.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
57
Deauville
DEAUVILLE

Like at the time of Coco Chanel, Deauville still exudes elegance and style. Here, strolling becomes a real pleasure for many. For water sports enthusiasts, the pleasure harbor is an absolute must. Visitors from all over the world will appreciate the hotel offer, the bath equipment and the atmosphere of the Casino. You will not be able to resist a long beach walk along the fine sandy beach. This Road 'les planches' is famous for the beach cabins that carry the names of the movie stars that once visited Deauville. Multicolored umbrellas and beach chairs are the necessary accessories to fully enjoy the Norman light, light that was so dear to the impressionists, a magical cocktail of sun, waves and clouds playing with sun rays. The annual festival of American film attracts numerous film stars and is an annual highlight in Deauville.

Without the horse races, however, the least known horses from the race track do not bother each other.

CAN NOT BE MISSED

  • Le Center International: International center inaugurated in 1992, is the showcase on the world of the international cultural scene. The construction is partly underground to respect the norms for the protection of the landscape and the environment.
  • L'hippodrome: (the horse racing track): built in 1864 by order of the Duke of Morny, himself a big amateur of horse races, who cooperated in the modernization of Deauville. The horse racing track is open all year round, there are regular international tournaments for polo.
  • L'établissement de vente Elie-de-Brignac: (the public sales hall Elie-de-Brignac): In the form of an amphitheater, today is a theater and is also used for the famous race horse auctions of Deauville.
  • The home of the painter Eugène Boudin «la Breloque»: It is in this house that the pioneer of Impressionism, born in Honfleur. Chose to live there in the last years of his life, because he loved the marine landscapes so much.
  • La villa Strassburger: This remarkable house, which was listed as a monument in 1975, was built by Baron Henri de Rotschild and purchased in 1924 by the American millionaire Ralph Beaver Strassburger. With its floor in half-timbered and the ground floor in the brick of the region, it is a typical country house of the stretch of 'Pays d'Auge'.
  • The Casino: Belongs to the most famous casinos in Europe. As early as 1912, lights are shining over Deauville's beach and they recall the crazy festive nights.
  • L'établissement des bains de mer: Built in 1923, this is an elegant complex with indoor gardens and fountains in mosaic. Here you can rent one of the legendary parasols of Deauville.
   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
60
honfleur
HONFLEUR **

A UNIQUE ARCHITECTURAL PATRIMONIUM

Because of its picturesque streets and its old houses it is wonderful to stroll in this small port city. The time has been carefully treated with Honfleur and thus it has been able to preserve its rich past. It is for this reason that it is one of the most visited cities in France. Honfleur is internationally known for several reasons: the charm of its narrow cobbled streets, the beautiful facades of the old houses, its small boutiques, the numerous cozy hotels and typical restaurants, but also the diversity of its monuments and richness of its historical, cultural and artistic heritage. Honfleur has a unique and warm atmosphere, typical of a small "big" city.

CAN NOT BE MISSED

  • The exceptional site of the Vieux-Bassin, in the heart of the city, surrounded by many narrow and high houses.
  • La Lieutenance and the Porte de Caen, ruins of the old fortifications.
  • The Church of Sainte Catherine, completely in wood
  • The Church Saint-Étienne is now the maritime museum. Here you will discover the history of explorers like Roberval, who left for Canada in 1541, or of the Marquis de la Roche (1596).
  • The Chapel Notre-Dame-de-Grâc witnesses the first discoveries that led to the colonization of present-day Canada (La Nouvelle France). On the plateau de Grâce is one of the oldest cemeteries (sanctuaries) of the region, surrounded by ancient trees.
  • The Museum Eugène Boudin: The museum, founded in 1868 by Alexandre Dubourg and Eugène Boudin, both sons of Honfleur, has preserved the spirit of the founders and presents works by artists who in the 19th century got their inspiration from the region, from the Romantics to the Impressionists and the Fauvists: Boudin, Monet, Courbet, Jongkind, Cals Dubourg, Isabey, Vallotton, Dufy, Marquet ...
  • Les Maisons Satie, in the birth house of the French composer Erik Satie
  • The Greniers à Sel (salt-filled attics): large stone buildings from the 17th century (1670). These two buildings could each store a stock of 10,000 tons of salt. Now they are prestigious witnesses and they host exhibitions, concerts and conferences.
  • Since Honfleur cross the Seine via the Pont de Normandie
  • Naturospace, the largest butterfly greenhouse of France
  • The privileged geographical location makes Honfleur an ideal starting point for many excursions in the hinterland of the Augeron, to the discovery of the Route du Cidre, the Cheese Route, and the tours on the mouth of the Seine, in the footsteps of the Impressionist painters ....
   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
61
Fontaine-Henri
FONTAINE-HENRY **

The interior of the castle is decorated with beautiful French furniture from the time of the Renaissance, Louis XIV, XV and XVI.
Also very worthwhile: the porcelain, silverware and beautiful souvenirs of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.
Walk in the forest around the castle.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
67
bechellouin
LE BEC-HELLOUIN

THE ORIGIN OF THE VILLAGE

The Abbey of Bec was founded around 1034 by a certain Hellouin (or Herluin), a knight of the Count of Brionne. This soon became an important center for Christianity, under the impulse of two men. The client, Lanfranc de Pavie and the philosopher Anselme d'Aoste, built on the reputation of this small piece of Normandy by spreading Bec's spiritual culture far beyond the borders of Normandy. They were not only priests along the banks of the Risle but they were also Archbishops of Canterbury. Soon the monks promoted the growth of the village in order to have the necessary labor force available. Bec-Hellouin thus lived almost to the rhythm of the abbey, both in times of joy and adversity and sorrow.

ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL VILLAGES OF FRANCE

The year 1417 is part of the dark years of Le Bec: in the middle of the Hundred Years War the priest applied the principle of burnt earth. He feared the devastating attacks of the English troops and therefore destroyed the whole village. He could not, however, prevent the English from taking the abbey. During the Revolution, conventional buildings were turned into a barracks for the cavalry. It is only in 1948 that the monks found Bec, followed the following year by congregation sisters who also built a monastery for their part. In addition to the religious buildings, Bec-Hellouin distinguishes itself by its exceptional location, its quiet and flowery streets and numerous half-timbered houses.

TO SEE

  • The abbey Notre-Dame du Bec: A historic monument owned by the State. The abbey is still inhabited by Benedictine monks whose artisan ceramic creations form the basis of the contemporary fame of Bec-Hellouin. The majestic St. Nicholas tower dominates the conventional buildings and the monastery from the XVIIth century where there is a quiet atmosphere.
  • The Saint Andrew's Church: the church that was built in 1039 was dependent on the Abbey until the Revolution. It was not until 1792 that the grave of the Blessed Hellouin was transferred to the church. Today, however, this tomb is back in the heart of the abbey.
  • The St-Françoise monastery: 2 km of the Abbey in the buildings that were founded in 1950, there are still 26 convent sisters according to the rules of the Holy Geneticist.
   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
77
Bayeux
BAYEUX **

It is an art in itself to provide one of the most impressive works of art in history a good and safe haven. Bayeux does that with great respect: the Bayeux Tapestry can be admired in a beautiful and authentic building. Moreover, Bayeux is rich in sensational, well-preserved buildings and monuments.

CARPET OF BAYEUX

Almost 1,000 years ago, the enormous woolen embroidery of the Bayeux Tapestry made the (then) small town in the Bessin famous. But ... in addition to this masterpiece Bayeux has much more to offer when it comes to art and history: the bombing in 1944 saved the town. The cultural and architectural heritage is still exceptionally rich here. Craftsmen have left beautiful business cards and show their talents and craftsmanship everywhere. The old capital of the Bajocas, a people of Gauls, can be proud of its embroidery, lace and porcelain. The inhabitants of Bayeux have benefited in the course of centuries from the important religious role the city played. Although the ideological battle between Catholics and Protestants was fierce here, the most beautiful buildings were erected in the center. From the Hôtel-Dieu to the monasteries of the Benedictines and the ursulines.

SEE

> The Carpet: the bishop of Odon ordered this work at the end of the 11th century. As the brother of William the Conqueror, he wanted to use this enormous embroidery as a decorative piece in the cathedral to tell the story of the conquest of England by the Duke of Normandy. This artistic masterpiece has been registered by Unesco in the Memory of the World program, it is historically a unique source of information.

> The Old Bayeux and the Notre-Dame Cathedral: the structure of the town center has not changed since the Middle Ages and surrounds the magnificent cathedral that was consecrated by William the Conqueror in 1077.

> Museum Baron Gérard: This exhibition space shows the work of local creative talent, with the finest art collections and half-timbered work.

> Conservatoire de la Dentelle: the aim of this place is to preserve and maintain more than 300 years of craftsmanship. In addition to temporary and permanent exhibitions, courses and beginners courses are also offered.

> The Memorial Museum of the Bataille de Normandie (Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy): in the morning of June 7, 1944, Bayeux became the first city liberated by the Allies, here you can see what preceded it.

> The Jardin Public with its 'weeping beech', included in the list of Remarkable Trees in France.

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
85
Longues
LONGUES-SUR-MER *

The Longues-sur-Mer battery was a defensive work near Longues-sur-Mer, on the Normandy coast, and was part of the Atlantikwall built by Germany during the Second World War. The battery was built because of a threatening Allied invasion.

The battery is about 450 meters from the coast, halfway between Port-en-Bessin and Arromanches and eight kilometers north of Bayeux.

Construction began in September 1943 and in April 1944 the complex was completed. The battery, built and manned by troops of the Kriegsmarine, was part of the Wehrmacht and included four 150mm Tbts.K C / 36 (Tbts.K = Torpedobootskanone) naval cannons from Krupp, each protected by sturdy M-272 casemates. The walls and the roof were of reinforced concrete with a thickness of two meters. At the back of each casemate was a room for the troops and the storage of ammunition. Near the coast, centrally located 300 meters in front of the four guns, was the Leitstand Type M-262 fire control bunker that took the coordinates and passed them on to the gunmen of the four guns.

For the protection of the complex, anti-aircraft guns were set up and for the defense against an attack over land several smaller bunkers were equipped with machine guns. Finally there were trenches, minefields and barbed wire barriers.

The battery had a fixed crew of 180 people. There was also an infantry battalion in the neighborhood that could be deployed in case of a possible attack over land.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
88
Plages
PLAGES DU DÉBARQUEMENTS **

Ouistreham - SWORD BEACH

Led by Commander Kieffer, the 4th French-British Command Brigade landed on this beach. In Sword Beach (specifically Ouistreham) the international commemoration ceremony took place in 2014 around 70 years of D-Day.

On 5 June, just before 11 pm, British Horsa gliders were launched to the Bénouville bridge. Within a few minutes, Major Howard's men reached their target. The Bénouville bridge changed into Pegasus Bridge. Also the bridge of Ranville, slightly more east was taken. At the same time, the parachutists of the 6th Airborne division jumped out of the plane to capture Merville's battery.

Courseulles-sur-mer - JUNO BEACH

Landing sector Juno Beach is strongly connected with the Canadians. On 6 June 1944, 14,000 Canadians and 9,000 Britons landed here. They suffered heavy losses.

The 3rd Canadian Division of Graye landed in Saint-Aubin. The Canadians had to conquer the coastal defense in the Courseulles-Bernières sector and then advance to the hinterland to join the British forces of Gold and Sword.

Arromanches - GOLD BEACH

This landing sector is located exactly in the middle of the landing area: the sector was assigned to the 50th Northumbrian Infantry Division of General Graham. A large artificial harbor was laid in Arromanches. The remains can still be seen. The Musée du Débarquement devotes ample attention to the way in which the plans for the port were devised and implemented. Arromanches 360 is a 360 degree cinema in which the history of the Battle of Normandy is portrayed in an impressive way.

The 50th British Division landed on Gold Beach and then quickly advanced to the city limits of Bayeux. This city was taken on 7 June in the morning. The division also had to clear the municipality of Arromanches as a precaution in connection with the planned construction of the artificial harbor (Mulberry) and to make a connection with the Canadian troops landed at Juno. This mission was completed on 6 June in the evening.

Colleville-sur-mer - OMAHA BEACH

If there is one place where the invasion could have failed, it is on the beach of Omaha Beach, in Colleville-sur-Mer. The American troops suffered heavy losses here on D-Day, hence the sad nickname Bloody Omaha (bloody Omaha). On the beach of Omaha Beach, to be precise in Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, is the statue Les Braves (the brave).

Since 156, Colleville's American military cemetery has been located here, in the middle of an area that the French have assigned to the United States. There are 9387 tombstones in long, tight rows on an immaculate lawn ... The emotion is big, almost tangible.

On the other American beach the situation was difficult. The beaches of Omaha were a real trap for the troops of the 1st and 29th division. The first wave of attacks had been repulsed with great force, the second cargo troops discovered that the beach was full of wounded, dead and destroyed equipment. In the end, the soldiers succeeded - on their gums - to climb the steep slope above the beach and get over the barbed wire. Towards twelve o'clock in the afternoon they started attacking the Germans and the battle began to turn in favor of the Allies.

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont - UTAH BEACH

This landing sector stretched from Sainte-Marie-du-Mont to Quinéville. From this sector the Allies wanted to take possession of the port of Cherbourg as soon as possible. The Utah Beach Museum was built on the spot where the American troops landed on 6 June 1944. The museum shows in chronological order what exactly happened here. The masterpiece of the collection is an original B-26 bomber.

The American paratroopers of the 82nd and 101st Airborne Division had to take Saint-Mère-Eglise and secure the bridgehead at Utah Beach.

We can distinguish three phases in the operation on 6 June 1944: the invasion from the air (near the beaches of Utah in the west and Sword in the east), the bombing from the air and the ships on the Atlantic Wall and the invasion from sea ​​on the five beaches (Utah, Omaha, Gold, Juno and Sword) and the Pointe du Hoc.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
105
Hoc
POINT DU HOC **

The storming of Omaha had a lot of difficult moments and ended almost disastrously. At the expense of large losses, the Americans eventually won the battle and conquered the villages on the coast. Meanwhile, the Ranger Battalion had to climb the 30 meter high chalk cliff of the Pointe du Hoc, storm the German coastal battery and defuse the cannons.

Within minutes the best climbers reached the highest point of the chalk cliffs. Above they found a true battlefield caused by the shelling and bombing of the allied ships at sea. The 155 mm artillery was something that was taken away by the retreating Germans. By 12 o'clock the Pointe du Hoc was in the hands of the Americans.

   
. Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
empty
 
176
mont-saint-michel
MONT-SAINT-MICHEL ***

The Mont-Saint-Michel

ON THE LIST OF THE WORLD HERITAGE OF UNESCO

The Mont Saint-Michel has been built as a specific peculiarity on a rocky island. You will discover several architectural gems: the pre-Romanesque church, the abbey church from the 11th and 15th centuries, Romanesque and Gothic convent buildings.

During the Revolution the Abbey was used as a prison, but since 1874 the Service of Historical Monuments has been housed here. Since 1969 there is also a monastic community present. The Mont Saint-Michel rightly received the title of "Wonder from the West" and is surrounded by a beautiful bay, witnessed by one of the strongest tides in Europe. A grand spectacle! The bay, which is situated between the Breton Pointe du Grouin (Cancale) and the Normandy Pointe de Champeaux towards Granville is also on the list of Unesco World Heritage. It is a region of history and legends and the site as we know it was once, for thousands of years, subject to the fickleness and power of the wild nature around the Bay. Now it is the task of mankind to once again make the sea lord and master of the Mont.

> The Bay of Mont and the strongest tides in Europe

The bay has the strongest tides in Europe. At high tide the sea rises in the form of a wave of half a meter high and over a distance of 25 km, almost like a horse in a gallop. This natural phenomenon led scientists and public services to "classify" various sites, such as the bird sanctuary of the island of Tombelaine. In order to contribute to the promotion, but also to the protection of Mont and the Bay, various exploratory expeditions are proposed: «In the footsteps of the former pilgrims», you will take the pilgrims' route in the Middle Ages to the Mont. They came together from the direction of Genêts, from where they then reached the abbey by crossing the sandbank under the guidance of a guide at low tide (6km or 12km back and forth). Duration back and forth: 4 hours with a 1 hour stop on the Mont.

> Rendering the Mont Saint-Michel its maritime character: In an information pavilion the visitor gets a view of the state of affairs, free and free to visit.

> The outstanding defenses of the village, the grande rue, the wall, the gardens of the abbey.

> The Abbey of the Mont-Saint-Michel

> The Auberge La Mère Poulard: founded in 1888, this house is inextricably linked to Mont Saint-Michel and the omelettes of Moeder Poulard are the gastronomic signboard of this village.

> The Archéoscope is a multimedia spectacle that tells the history and the legends since the beginning of the Mont to the present.

> The Musée de la Mer et de l'Ecology: curiosities of the Mont and the Bay of the 16th century to the 20th century (models, descent works, etc.)

> Logis Tiphaine - In the house of Bertrand Du Guesclin (1320-1380) the history of the Chief Sole of France and his wife Tiphaine de Raguenel is outlined. Visit to an interior from the XIVe century, with furniture, tapestries, curiosities.

> Other animations: Exhibition in the Bay House (Maison de la Baie), guided themed walks, day trips, meetings, etc ...

   
View our photo report here Google MAPS map of the location
empty
empty
© Domaine des Sources - Montviette - 2007~2018